APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 • *Fax* 276-466-7820 *WEB – hjdc.org*

April 19, 2024

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, April 19, 2024 at the Washington County Administration Building located at 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present:

James C. Lane (Chairman, Norton)

Allen Crockett – Lee County

Arlene Matney – Tazewell County

Dawn Gilbert – Wise County

Brad Johnson – Buchanan County

Mark Thompson – Scott County

Rhonda Lester – Russell County

Commission members absent:

Shawn Utt – Smyth County

April Collins – Dickenson County

Jason Berry – Washington County

Neal Osborne – City of Bristol

Staff present included Trey Murray, Executive Director, Danny Johnson, Finance Director, Brad Stallard, Attorney, Jeremy Hurley, Deputy Director, and Mary Cross.

Call to Order

James C. Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 10:03 A.M.

Approval of Minutes

Mark Thompson moved to approve the minutes of February 23, 2024. Dawn Gilbert seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Allen Crockett, Arlene Matney, Dawn Gilbert, Rhonda Lester, and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

Financial Statement

Arlene Matney moved to approve the March 31, 2024 Financial Statement. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Allen Crockett, Arlene Matney, Dawn Gilbert, Rhonda Lester,

Brad Johnson (joined meeting at 10:15) and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None

Arlene Matney moved to continue mediation within the negotiated bracket. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following voice vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Allen Crockett, Arlene Matney, Dawn Gilbert, Rhonda Lester,

Brad Johnson, and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

Appointment of New member (Russell County)

Ms. Rhonda Lester was introduced as the new representative from Russell County replacing Vickie Porter.

Open to Commission Members

Mr. Lane expressed his gratitude to Mr. Murray for the reduction of the cell phone bill, new staff scheduling and staffing pattern, new programs, as well as the radio system upgrade.

Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

James C. Lane Chairman

Fred R. Murray

Executive Director