APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 • *Fax* 276-466-7820 *WEB* – *hjdc.org*

February 23, 2024

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, February 23, 2024 at the Washington County Administration Building located at 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present:

James C. Lane - Chair, Norton Jason Berry – Washington County Allen Crockett – Lee County April Collins – Dickenson County Dawn Gilbert – Wise County Brad Johnson – Buchanan County Mark Thompson – Scott County

Commission members absent: Shawn Utt – Vice Chair, Smyth County Neal Osborne – City of Bristol

Neal Osborne – City of Bristol Arlene Matney – Tazewell County Vicki Porter – Russell County

Staff present included Trey Murray, Executive Director, Danny Johnson, Finance Director, Brad Stallard, Attorney, and Mary Cross.

Call to Order

James C. Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 10:11 A.M.

Approval of Minutes

Jason Berry moved to approve the minutes of January 26th, 2024. April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, and Mark Thompson. Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Financial Statement

April Collins moved to approve the January 31, 2024 Financial Statement. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, and Mark Thompson. Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Updates

Mr. Murray gave updates on non-member localities; DJJ; SB 438 was voted down; and HB 1438 was carried over to 2025

<u>Appointment of New member (Lee County)</u> 10:27 A.M. Mr. Allen Crockett was introduced as the representative from Lee County.

AJC Bylaws revision

April Collins moved to accept the Appalachian Juvenile Commission's Bylaws as presented by the Bylaw's Committee. Jason Berry seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, Allen Crockett, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, and Mark Thompson. Nayes: None Abstain: None

Closed Session

Mark Thompson moved to enter closed session under Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711(a)(1)(7) Personnel and Grievance Matters; Dawn Gilbert seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, Allen Crockett, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, and Mark Thompson. Nayes: None Abstain: None

RESOLUTION CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened in a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission that such a meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission.

 AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, Allen Crockett, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, and Mark Thompson
NAYS: None.
ABSTAINERS: None.
ABSENT: Shawn Utt, Neal Osborne, Arlene Matney and Vicki Porter

Dawn Gilbert moved to approve the Organizational Chart as Written. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, Allen Crockett, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, and Mark Thompson. Nayes: None Abstain: None

April Collins moved to add to the present Salary Scale a Grade 8 \$100,000.00 - \$130,000.00 with Mid beginning \$115,000.00. The motion was seconded by Dawn Gilbert.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, Allen Crockett, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson and Mark Thompson. Nayes: None Abstain: None

April Collins moved to approve the Executive Director's Contract with salary provision on page 2 and vehicle provisions on page 3; the contract will be retroactive to November 17, 2023. The motion was seconded by Dawn Gilbert.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Jason Berry, Allen Crockett, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson and Mark Thompson. Nayes: None Abstain: None The next regular meeting will be April 19, 2024 at 10:00 A.M.

Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

Х James C Jan 04/19/2024 James C. Lane

Chairman

19 4-19-2024

Fred R. Murray Executive Director