APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248

BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

September 20, 2024

The Appalachian Juvenile Commission's regular meeting was held on Friday, September 20, 2024, at the Washington County Administration Building, 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present:

Commission members absent:

James C. Lane (Chairman, Norton)

Allen Crockett - Lee County

Rhonda Lester – Russell County

Arlene Matney – Tazewell County

April Collins – Dickenson County

Neal Osborne - City of Bristol

Dawn Gilbert - Wise County

Brad Johnson – Buchanan County

Mark Thompson - Scott County

Shawn Utt - Smyth County

Jason Berry – Washington County

Staff present included Trey Murray, Executive Director, Danny Johnson, Finance

Director, Brad Stallard, Attorney, Jeremy Hurley, Deputy Director and Mary Cross.

Call to Order

James C. Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 10:05 A.M.

Financial Audit

Judy Olinger of Blackley, Olinger, and Associates presented the annual Audit Report for FY2024. Ms. Olinger reported that the audit report was conducted according to the yellow book audit

and must be submitted to the state. The audit was found to be a fair, clean audit with no material weaknesses or deficiencies in internal control. Jason Berry moved to accept the Audit as presented. Shawn Utt seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion passed by the following roll call vote:

AYES:

James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Brad Johnson,

Mark Thompson, Jason Berry and Rhonda Lester.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

Approval of Minutes

Shawn Utt moved to approve the minutes of June 21, 2024. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Brad Johnson,

Mark Thompson, Jason Berry, and Rhonda Lester.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

Financial Statement

April Collins moved to approve the financial statement for July 1, 2024, to August 31, 2024, and Dawn Gilbert seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Brad Johnson,

Mark Thompson, Jason Berry, and Rhonda Lester.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

Updates

Mr. Murray provided updates for the quarter regarding the Youth Shelter, Non-commission localities, Enhanced Retirement, New Programs, new Substance Abuse Programs, and Detention Center utilization.

Closed Session

Jason Berry moved to enter into closed session under Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711(a)(1)(7) Personnel and Grievance Matters; Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Brad Johnson,

Mark Thompson, Jason Berry, and Rhonda Lester.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

RESOLUTION

CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened in a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission that such a meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission.

AYES: James Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Brad Johnson, Mark Thompson, Jason Berry, and Rhonda Lester.

Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Shawn Utt moved to give Merit raises as discussed in the closed session. April Collins seconded the motion. After consideration, the motion passed by the following roll call vote:

AYES:

James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Brad Johnson,

Mark Thompson, Jason Berry, and Rhonda Lester.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

April Collins moved to have Mr. Murray to give recommendations for merit raises and update personnel policy to include merit raises. Jason Berry seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Brad Johnson,

Mark Thompson, Jason Berry, and Rhonda Lester.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

<u>Adjourn</u>

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

lames C. Lane

Chairman

Date

Fred R. Murray III

Executive Director

12-6-202

Date